Niia…..behind the scenes

carrie schechter niia bertino

me, niia

I photographed the girl with the magic voice a little while ago…. her name is Niia Bertino. (Check out some of the finals shots here.) She is a classically trained pianist with one of the most intoxicating voices I’ve heard in a while. I’m in love with “Masochist” and “Learn My Body” at the moment.

carrie schechter niia bertino

From age 16-21 Niia was signed to Wyclef Jeans label. I recognized her voice from  Wyclef’s smash, Sweetest Girl (Dollar Bill) featuring Akon, Lil Wayne, Raekwon & Niia.

carrie schechter niia bertino

michelle, niia, gigi, & myself. photo by eric

I met Niia at her old managers office to discuss shooting her press kit … I loved her as much as I love her music. Niia knew exactly how she wanted to be photographed, which was awesome.

Before the shoot I went to see her live. The audience hardly breaths while she sings, which almost led to a riot when the bartender dared try to shake a martini for a customer during “Last Man”.

carrie schechter niia bertino

On set: The fabulous designer and stylist  Gigi Burris,  the talented hair and makeup artist Michelle Coursey , myself, and my 1st Eric B. convened at Niia’s residence with Rocco & Wednesday on a beastly hot summer afternoon. Now working on her solo career, Niia is recording her new album and I personally can’t wait.

carrie schechter niia bertinocarrie schechter niia bertino

In loving memory of Rocco Bertino. Huge thanks to the wonderful Cory Greenwell for the behind the scenes photos!!

carrie schechter niia bertino

rocco

Leave a comment

Filed under celebrity, music

Leave a Reply

